Skip to main content will be down for scheduled maintenance from 8pm to 11pm on Wednesday 6  and Thursday 7 December.

Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga

Pouhere Taonga


  • maintain the New Zealand Heritage list
  • care for 48 nationally significant heritage properties 
  • regulate the modification of archaeological sites
  • provide advice and assistance to whānau, hapū and iwi in the preservation and management of their heritage resources
  • provide advice to both central and local government, and property owners on the conservation of New Zealand’s most significant heritage sites 
  • manage the National Heritage Preservation Incentive Fund.




Autonomous crown entities

Utility links and page information

Last updated