Skip to main content
Note:

Help us improve this website by doing a short survey.

Public holidays and anniversary dates

Observed dates for national public holidays and regional anniversary days.

Holidays at weekends

If a holiday falls on the weekend check the Employment NZ website or with the council for actual and observed holiday dates. Some councils move the holiday date depending on when Easter, Labour Day or other regional events occur.

2020 to 2022 public holidays and anniversary dates

National public holidays 2021

  • New Year’s Day: Friday 1 January
  • Day after New Year’s Day: Saturday 2 January or Monday 4 January
  • Waitangi Day: Saturday 6 February or Monday 8 February
  • Good Friday: Friday 2 April
  • Easter Monday: Monday 5 April
  • Anzac Day: Sunday 25 April or Monday 26 April
  • Queen’s Birthday: Monday 7 June
  • Labour Day: Monday 25 October
  • Christmas Day: Saturday 25 December or Monday 27 December
  • Boxing Day: Sunday 26 December or Tuesday 28 December

Regional anniversary days 2021

National public holidays 2022

  • New Year’s Day: Saturday 1 January or Monday 3 January
  • Day after New Year’s Day: Sunday 2 January or Tuesday 4 January
  • Waitangi Day: Sunday 6 February or Monday 7 February 
  • Good Friday: Friday 15 April
  • Easter Monday: Monday 18 April
  • Anzac Day: Monday 25 April
  • Queen’s Birthday: Monday 6 June
  • Matariki: Friday 24 June
  • Labour Day: Monday 24 October
  • Christmas Day: Sunday 25 December or Tuesday 27 December
  • Boxing Day: Monday 26 December

Regional anniversary days 2022

All council websites and maps

Have your say about this page

Is there something wrong with this page?

Last Updated

Page last updated: