Skip to main content

National Public Health Service

Dial 111 in a medical emergency

If you need health advice, call Healthline on 0800 611 116 — it’s free and available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.


The National Public Health Service provides health promotion, prevention, and health protection at local, regional, and national levels.

The National Public Health Service partners with:

  • Te Aka Whai Ora — the Māori Health Authority
  • Te Pou Hauora Tūmatanui — the Public Health Agency

Regional Public Health Services


Ngā Tai Ora — Public Health Northland

Districts covered: Northland

Auckland Regional Public Health Service

Districts covered: Tāmaki Makaurau — Auckland

Te Manawa Taki

Waikato Public Health

Districts covered: Waikato, Ruapehu (Northern part)

Toi Te Ora — Public Health

Districts covered: Whakatāne, Tauranga, Rotorua and Taupō

Taranaki Public Health

Districts covered: Taranaki

Hauora Tairāwhiti

Districts covered: Gisborne/Tairāwhiti


Hawke’s Bay Public Health

Districts covered: Hawke’s Bay

MidCentral Public Health

Districts covered: Manawatū, Whanganui, Ruapehu (Southern part)

Regional Public Health

Districts covered: Wellington, Hutt Valley, Wairarapa

Te Waipounamu

Nelson Marlborough Public Health Service

Districts covered: Nelson-Marlborough

Community and Public Health

Districts covered: Canterbury, Mid Canterbury, South Canterbury, West Coast and Chatham Islands

Public Health South

Districts covered: Otago, Southland




Public Sector

Part of

Te Whatu Ora

Utility links and page information

Last updated