Skip to main content

Public holidays over Christmas and New Year

There are 4 public holidays over Christmas and New Year.

The 4 public holidays are:

  • Christmas Day (25 December)
  • Boxing Day (26 December)
  • New Year’s Day (1 January)
  • 2 January.

When Christmas public holidays fall on a weekend

If Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year’s Day or 2 January are on a Saturday or Sunday and you do not normally work weekends, the next work day (or days) will be the public holidays.  


If Christmas Day and Boxing Day fall on a Saturday and Sunday and:

  • you usually work Monday to Friday — you’ll get Monday 27 and Tuesday 28 December as paid public holidays
  • you usually work weekends — you’ll get Saturday and Sunday as paid days off. Or, if you work, you’ll be paid time and a half and be able to take a paid day off later.

Working on public holidays

Days in lieu (alternative holidays)

Christmas closedown

If public holidays fall inside the closedown period, you’ll be paid for them if they’re on days you usually work.

Annual closedowns

Utility links and page information

Was this page helpful?
Thanks, do you want to tell us more?

Do not enter personal information. All fields are optional.

Last updated